NEWS: New album from Sufjan Stevens (coming October 12)


I have been adoring Sufjan Stevens’ recent All Delighted People EP – it’s 60-minutes of beautiful music that is both completely new and unmistakably Sufjan. He’s tinkering more with electronic instruments and drum machines, and his recent turn at symphonic scoring shines through brilliantly on several of the songs (see “Djohariah” and the title-track). My absolute favorite track is probably “From the Mouth of Gabriel”, one of the shorter songs on the record that somehow utilizes electronic glitching, swirling woodwind orchestration that calls to mind Jonsi’s recent LP, and stunningly gorgeous choral arrangements – all in just about 4 minutes.

mp3: Sufjan Stevens – From The Mouth Of Gabriel
from the All Delighted People EP (buy it here)

But as much as I’ve been loving this taste of what Sufjan’s been up to, I’ll admit that I’ve thought it curious that some of the strongest songs from last year’s tour didn’t show up – songs like “There’s Too Much Love”, “Age of Adz”, and “Impossible Soul”. I’ve been fairly confident they’ll show up in one form or another soon… but I wasn’t sure if it would be on a proper album, another EP, or some other internet-assisted way. Well, now we know: Sufjan’s got a new record! Woot!

It’s called “The Age of Adz” (pronounced Odds), loosely named after the apocalyptic paintings of the eccentric Louisianan artist Royal Robertson (1930-1997), and it’s coming October 12th. While Robertson seems to be the inspiration for the general tone of the album (that’s his work on the cover), it’s not based on him per say – or on any other specific theme for that matter. According to Asthmatic Kitty:

This new album (is not) built around any conceptual underpinning (no odes to states, astrology, or urban expressways).

So a state-project this is not. Additionally:

We can say it shows an extensive use of electronics (banjos and acoustic guitars give way to drum machines and analog synthesizers), and an obsession with cosmic fantasies (space, heaven, aliens, love), to create an explicit pop-song extravaganza, augmented by heavy orchestration, and maybe even a few danceable moments. Enjoy Your Rabbit meets the BQE. But with songs. Verse, chorus, bridge, backbeat. Gated reverb. Space echo. Get your boogey on.

This is very very exciting. Read more about it at Asthmatic Kitty’s website. Here’s the tracklist:

1 “Futile Devices”
2 “Too Much”
3 “Age of Adz”
4 “I Walked”
5 “Now That I’m Older”
6 “Get Real Get Right”
7 “Bad Communication”
8 “Vesuvius”
9 “All for Myself”
10 “I Want To Be Well”
11 “Impossible Soul”

UPDATE: And here’s our first taste off The Age of Adz – the electro-thumping “I Walked”. I like it. Take a listen.

mp3: Sufjan Stevens – I Walked
from the album The Age of Adz (pre-order it here)



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *